Related Faculty in Other Departments

Here we list faculty members from other departments across the UBC campus whose research interests closely align with those of the Linguistics department.

This includes people who meet some or all of the following criteria:
  1. Active collaboration on grants, papers, teaching, etc.
  2. Attendance at Linguistics department functions, classes, etc.
  3. Membership on current or recent (last 3 years) grad student committees
  4. Engaged in linguistics-related research
  5. Expressed desire (in writing) to be included on our website
If you are not currently on this list, but are interested in being added, please contact us!

 

Ballarin, Roberta
Assistant Professor
Department of Philosophy
Philosophy of Logic, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language
rballari@mail.ubc.ca

Bernhardt, B. May
Professor
School of Audiology and Speech Sciences
Speech-language pathology, phonological and phonetic development, language impairment
may.bernhardt@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Blake, Susan
Sessional Lecturer
Faculty of Arts
Arts Studies in Research and Writing
susanj.blake@yahoo.ca

Bouchard-Côté, Alexandre
Assistant Professor
Department of Statistics
Statistical machine learning, statistical natural-language processing, automated proto-language reconstruction
bouchard@stat.ubc.caBrinton, Laurel J.
Professor
Department of English
Grammaticalization and lexicalization, historical pragmatics (discourse markers in the history of English), aspect and aktionsart, English historical linguistics, Canadian English lexicography
brinton@mail.ubc.ca

Carenini, Giuseppe
Associate Professor
Department of Computer Science
Artificial Intelligence, Computational Linguistics, Human-Computer Interaction, Social Issues in Computing
carenini@cs.ubc.ca

Carey, Stephen
Professor
Department of Education
Asia/Pacific, bilingualism, First Nations education, French and second languages
stephen.carey@ubc.ca

Ciocca, Valter
Professor and Director
School of Audiology and Speech Sciences
Auditory scene analysis, speech perception and production, and pitch perception and production
director@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Dancygier, Barbara
Professor
Department of English
Cognitive linguistics (construction grammar, frame semantics, mental spaces theory, blending theory), English, Polish
barbara.dancygier@ubc.ca

de Villiers, Jessica
Associate Professor
Department of English
Discourse, pragmatics, autism spectrum disorders
devillie@mail.ubc.ca

Fels, Sidney
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering, Media and Graphics Interdisciplinary Centre (MAGIC)
Human computer interaction, neural networks, artificial intelligence, interactive arts and music, biomechanical modeling, social media, persuasive technology
ssfels@ece.ubc.ca

Hall, Geoffrey
Professor
Department of Psychology
Language acquisition, lexical and conceptual development, semantic development
geoff@psych.ubc.ca

James, Kedrick
Instructor
Department of Language and Literacy Education
English as a second language, semiotics, text studies
kedrick.james@ubc.ca

King, Ross (see also https://ubc.academia.edu/RossKing)
Professor of Korean and Head of Department
Asian Studies
Korean historical linguistics, Korean dialectology, history of Korean linguistics; History of language, writing and literary culture in the Sinographic Cosmopolis
ross.king@ubc.ca

Li, Duanduan
Associate Professor
Department of Asian Studies
Applied linguistics, sociolinguistics, heritage language education
duanduan.li@ubc.ca

Marinova-Todd, Stefka H.
Assistant Professor
School of Audiology and Speech Sciences
Bilingual language and cognitive development, second language acquisition
stefka@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Navarro Ortega, Samuel
Assistant Professor
Department of French, Hispanic and Italian Studies
Second language acquisition
samuel.navarro@ubc.ca

Moore, Patrick
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
Linguistic anthropology, Northern Athapaskan languages, sub-arctic ethnography
patrick.moore@ubc.ca

Onyeoziri, Gloria
Professor
Department of French, Hispanic, and Italian Studies
Semantics, irony, African literary discourse
gloriaon@mail.ubc.ca

Rosenblum, Daisy
Assistant Professor
First Nations Languages Program
Department of Anthropology
Language documentation, conservation and revitalization, endangered languages; morphology, syntax, discourse, and their interaction; language and space; Wakashan languages, Mayan languages
daisy.rosenblum@ubc.ca

Rouget, Christine
Associate Professor
Department of French, Hispanic and Italian Studies
Corpus linguistics, French linguistics, syntax of spoken French
christine.rouget@ubc.ca

Shaw, Patricia A.
Professor
Department of Anthropology
Phonology, morphology, First Nations languages
patricia.a.shaw@ubc.ca

Simchen, Ori
Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy
Philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, metaphysics
ori.simchen@ubc.ca

Small, Jeff A.
Associate Professor
School of Audiology and Speech Sciences
Psycholinguistics, language processing, dementia and aphasia
jeffs@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Talmy, Steven
Associate Professor
Department of Language and Literacy Education
Discourse and interaction, language pedagogy, language socialization, pidgins and creoles, second language acquisition
steven.talmy@ubc.ca

Tierney, Rob
Professor
Department of Language and Literacy Education
Asia/Pacific, discourse analysis, semiotics, text studies
rob.tierney@ubc.ca

Turin, Mark
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
Language endangerment and revitalization
mark.turin@ubc.ca

Werker, Janet
Professor and Canada Research Chair
Department of Psychology
Developmental psychology, language acquisition, infant speech perception
jwerker@psych.ubc.ca